Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

Modesto Castrillon-Santana
Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Brief Bio
Modesto Castrillon-Santana received the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from the Las Palmas de Gran Canaria University (ULPGC), in 1992 and 2003, respectively. He is currently a Full Professor with the Department of Computer Science and Systems, ULPGC. His main research activities focus particularly on the automatic facial analysis, covering also different topics related to image processing, perceptual interaction, human-machine interaction, biometrics, and computer graphics. He is a member of the AEPIA and AERFAIIAPR, having coauthored over one hundred fifty articles, including peer-reviewed international journals, book chapters, and conference proceedings. He has acted as an external expert for the Chilean, Italian and Qatar Research Agencies and the Spanish Acceditation Agency. He serves to the community in different conference programme and technical committees. He is currently an Associate Editor of Pattern Recognition Letters and past board member of the IEEE Biometrics Newsletter. ... More >>

Maria De Marsico
Sapienza Università di Roma

Brief Bio
Maria De Marsico is Full Professor at Sapienza University of Rome, Department of Computer Science. She graduated in Computer Science at University of Salerno. Her research interests concern the study of biometric systems (face, iris, gait, multi-biometric systems), pattern recognition, image processing, and human-machine interaction, in particular, issues of accessibility, emotion recognition, and biometric interaction. She is Editor in Chief for Special Issues of Pattern Recognition Letters, Associate Editor of Pattern Recognition, Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Biometrics, Behavior, and Identity Science, and has been guest editor of several Special Issues of high-ranked journals. Maria has been member of the Editorial Board of the IEEE Biometrics Compendium and Editor in Chief of IEEE Biometrics Council Newsletter. She has been co-editor with Michele Nappi (University of Salerno) and Massimo Tistarelli (University of Sassari) of the book "Face recognition in adverse conditions" published by IGI Global, and with Michele Nappi (University of Salerno) Hugo Proença (University of Beira Interior) of the book “Human Recognition in Outdoor Unconstrained Environments - Using Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning Methods for Biometrics” edited by Elsevier – Academic Press. She is Program co-Chair of the International Conference on Pattern Recognition Applications and Methods - ICPRAM since 2013. Maria is Member of IEEE (The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), CVPL ( former GIRPR - Italian Group of Researchers in Pattern Recognition), and EAB (European Association for Biometrics). ... More >>


Andrea F. Abate, University of Salerno, Italy
Rahib H. Abiyev, Near East University, Turkey
Heba M. Afify, Biomedical Engineering Department, Cairo University, Egypt
Mayer Aladjem, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
José L. Alba, University of Vigo, Spain
George Azzopardi, University of Groningen, Netherlands and University of Malta, Malta
Stefano Berretti, University of Florence, Italy
Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
Monica Bianchini, University of Siena, Italy
Ronald Böck, Genie Enterprise Inc., Germany
Andrea Bottino, Politecnico Di Torino, Italy
Paula Brito, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
Javier Calpe, Universitat de València, Spain
Amitava Chatterjee, Jadavpur University, India
Wei Cheng, NEC Laboratories Europe, United States
Gerard Chollet, CNRS, France
Luiza de Macedo Mourelle, State University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
José Joaquim de Moura Ramos, University of A Coruña, Spain
Jean-Louis Dillenseger, Université de Rennes, France
Georg Dorffner, University of Valencia, Spain
Mounin El Yacoubi, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France
Giorgio Fumera, University of Cagliari, Italy
Markus Goldstein, Ulm University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Petra Gomez-Krämer, La Rochelle University, France
Daniel Gomez Gonzalez, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Michal Haindl, Institute of Information Theory and Automation, Czech Republic
Kouichi Hirata, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
Sean Holden, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Paul Honeine, University of Rouen Normandy, France
Su-Yun Huang, Academia Sinica, Taiwan, Republic of China
Dimitris Iakovidis, University of Thessaly, Greece
Yuji Iwahori, Chubu University, Japan
Sarangapani Jagannathan, Missouri University of Science and Technology, United States
Mohammad R. Jahanshahi, Purdue University, United States
Arti Jain, Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Noida, India
Xiaoyi Jiang, University of Münster, Germany
Roger King, Mississippi State University, United States
Marcin Korzen, West Pomeranian University of Technology in Szczecin, Poland
Sotiris Kotsiantis, Educational Software Development Laboratory, University of Patras, Greece
Marek Kretowski, Bialystok University of Technology, Poland
Adam Krzyzak, Concordia University, Canada
Marco La Cascia, Università degli Studi di Palermo, Italy
Young-Koo Lee, Kyung Hee University, Korea, Republic of
Qingzhong Liu, Sam Houston State University, United States
Javier Lorenzo-Navarro, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (ULPGC), Spain
Sally McClean, University of Ulster, United Kingdom
Boris Mirkin, NRU Higher School of Economics Moscow RF, Russian Federation
Delia A. Mitrea, Technical University of Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Ramón A. Mollineda Cárdenas, Universitat Jaume I, Spain
Muhammad Marwan Muhammad Fuad, Coventry University, United Kingdom
Jakub Nalepa, Silesian University of Technology, Poland
Mita Nasipuri, Jadavpur University, India
Mikael Nilsson, Lund University, Sweden
Mark Nixon, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
Kalman Palagyi, University of Szeged, Hungary
Mikhail Petrovskiy, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Russian Federation
Vincenzo Piuri, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sivaramakrishnan Rajaraman, National Library of Medicine, United States
Anca L. Ralescu, University of Cincinnati, United States
Krothapalli Sreenivasa Rao, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
Daniel Riccio, University of Naples, Federico II, Italy
C. Okan Sakar, Bahcesehir University, Turkey
Luciano Sanchez, Universidad de Oviedo, Spain
Antonio-José Sánchez-Salmerón, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
Carlo Sansone, University of Naples Federico II, Italy
Michele Scarpiniti, Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Gerald Schaefer, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Mu-Chun Su, National Central University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Eulalia Szmidt, Systems Research Institute Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Monique Thonnat, INRIA, France
Kar-ann Toh, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Edmondo Trentin, Dipartimento Ingegneria dell'Informazione, Università degli Studi di Siena, Italy
Pei-Wei Tsai, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
Asmir Vodencarevic, Novartis Pharma GmbH, Germany
Hua-Liang Wei, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
Laurent Wendling, Paris Descartes University, France
Slawomir Wierzchon, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Michal Wozniak, Wroclaw University of Science and Technology, Poland
Jing-Hao Xue, University College London, United Kingdom
Pavel Zemcik, Brno University of Technology, Faculty of Information Technology, Czech Republic

(list not yet complete)